86-28-85223685

info@yangtze-river-cruises.com

Yangtze Cruise InquiryContact us

Yangtze Cruise Reviews from Real Cruise Travelers
You are here: Home > What Our Customers Say

Reviews of Yangtze River Cruise

Still not deciding if a Yangtze River Cruise is worth for you? Many of our travellers have experienced a lifetime changing trip and now more than happy to share their stories with you. Check out their memorable Yangtze Cruise reviews and experiences.

Hi Leo,

Thanks for your email.

We are very satisfied with your attentive service and we are glad to give to you our feedback.

Despite bad weather and some rains, the cruise has been fully satisfactory.

Thanks.

Best Regards

Jordi

Jordi,
October 14, 2018

Hi Ashley,

You asked for some feedback about the services your company provided for us in China. Before mentioning detailed feedback, I have to say that you gave us a fantastic holiday. Also, you should know that my wife and I are independent travelers who like to do things for ourselves as far as possible and so are perhaps not typical Western tourists.

However, we appreciated that China is very different from Europe and so in the time available to us we would have not been able to see so much and get an understanding of modern- day China without the services of your guides.

For us it was great to know that when we arrived somewhere new there would always be one of your guides waiting for us. It was also good to have you as our guardian angel on WeChat in case anything went wrong such as our delayed flight from Jiayugan to Xi’an. I don’t know how often flights are delayed by nearly 4 hours but this wasn’t really a problem for us because you were able to assure us that our guide, Waldner would be waiting for us.

Your guides provided us with a great service. Lindsay gave us a great introduction to Beijing, Daniel told us so much about Tibetan culture and gave us an unforgettable visit to the Tibetan museum in Xining. Jessica was so enthusiastic and was a pleasure to be with. Waldner told us much about modern China, David did a great job of showing us Chongqing even though the weather was not so good

After we got off the cruise ship Amanda gave us a very pleasant afternoon in Yichang where there wasn’t much to see. She was right to suggest that we might not have got our train if we had gone to the Sanyou caves and so arranged an interesting visit to the Yichang museum instead. We were particularly impressed by Jennifer’s knowledge of Wuhan especially the stories she told us which brought the Yellow Crane Pagoda to life.

After a four-hour train ride to Shanghai it was good to meet Tina who was also helpful in accompanying us to the Airport on the Maglev train.

We were also impressed with the programme that you organised for us. Generally speaking, it was everything that we wanted although there were some items not on your programme that we did see / would have liked to have seen. These were:

1. In Beijing we would have liked to have seen the National Museum of China and go up the tower next to the Olympic Park.

2. In Xining Daniel showed us the Tibetan Culture Museum with it fantastic 620-metre-long prayer scroll. This incredible scroll should be part of any itinerary you offer in Xining.

3. In my free time in Shanghai I went up the Shanghai Tower which was a much better experience than the Shanghai financial tower we went up as part of our tour. This was not just because it was higher but because, unlike the Financial Centre Tower, the Shanghai Tower had an excellent exhibition of how it was built with many photos of old Shanghai.

4. We were sorry not see the Urban Planning Exhibition in Shanghai which was closed on the Monday when it was planned we should visit it.

We are perhaps different from most tourists in that shopping is not our priority. For this reason, some of the shopping experiences that were arranged for us did not add much to our holiday. We do not like the idea of factories and museums that were in fact just tourist shops. In some case such as the Silk Workshop and Tea Museum we had a very interesting explanation of the process but at other places such as the Pearl Museum and Terracotta Warrior workshop we had only a few minutes explanation before being taken to the shop.

Although it’s only a small thing another thing that spoilt things for us was that at some of the restaurants only a small amount of beer was served, perhaps three mouthfuls, yet at other places were given a full bottle.

However, the above are only small points and I must stress that your company has given us a fantastic experience of China that we could not have experienced in any other way.

As well as learning of China’s history the holiday you arranged for us has given us a good understanding of China’s present for which we are very grateful.

With best wishes and thanks again for all your assistance!

David

 

David, Ireland
October 12, 2018

Hi Echo,

That’s paid now!

I keep meaning to email you to tell you we had a fabulous holiday in China - we saw so much and really loved it. Also all your guides were brilliant - they were so friendly and helpful, they knew and told us so much about all the places we visited. Everything went so smoothly and the drivers were all very good and courteous and looked after us and our luggage so well. We can’t thank you enough for organising our wonderful holiday and we will definitely tell our friends and family about you if they are visiting China.

Many thanks

Nicky

Nicky,
October 6, 2018

Dear Wendy,

It was a relaxing and calm cruise ride on the Yangtze River. The service was good and the personnel working on the cruise was very attentive of its customers.

The food offered on the cruise was medium good and the rooms were spacey enough.

It was a bit unfortunate that there were so many add-ons like Wifi and the drinking plans forcing us to pay extra on a cruise ride which was already quite pricey itself.

In regards to photos, you have our approval to post photos taken by the cruise ship on your website.

Kind regards,

Daan

Daan,
September 27, 2018

Hi Rita,

We had a wonderful time on the cruise and everything worked out perfectly.  We were very lucky with the weather – it was a beautiful day when we were travelling through the Gorges and we saw a lot of wonderful scenery. 

I’m not a photographer so I don’t have any good pictures to send you but thank you again for your service and I will recommend your agency and the Century Sun to others who may be thinking about booking a cruise.

Christine

Christine,
October 9, 2018

Hi Catherine,

We are now back at home from our wonderful visit to China.

Your help, guidance and suggestions helped to make this a great trip for independent travelers such as my wife and I.  Your quick responses and setting up transportation guides worked really great.  I do not know if we could have arranged to meet train and boat schedules without them.

I would gladly recommend your services to others who have an interest in visiting China.  

Thanks again,

Janet and Gary

Janet and Gary,
October 4, 2018

Hi Wing,

Thank you very much for your email. Yes we have arrived home safely for over 1 week now. We would like to express our gratitude towards you for arranging the river cruise, the high speed train tickets and the car/driver/tour guide from Chongqing cruise terminal to airport. The cruise ship Century Diamond was safe and clean and all staff on board are courteous and efficient. The young lady serving in the VIP dining room was in particular excellent.

Here I would like to convey special thanks to our guide from the Chongqing cruise terminal to the airport. Her name is Fiona Liu (劉瑤). Flight flying out of Chongqing to Guangdong cities were totally paralysed on 16/9/18 due to typhoon arriving at the time. Although Ms Liu’s duty was to see us through check-in only, she had taken special efforts to see us put up in a hotel in Chongqing by China Southern until seats were available to continue our journey. Her comforting words at the time were God-send for an elderly couple like us. Please kindly pass on our sincere thanks to her.

Finally we are happy to see everything in China going so well and all people working in all trades are striving to make this great country even greater. We salute you all!

With kind regards,

Christina and Cary

Christina and Cary,
October 1, 2018

Hi Lyn,

We have returned home on Wed early morning after the Yangtze River Cruise on Century Paragon. We have enjoyed the upstream cruise tremendously and thanks for making it possible for both of us. Our request for the choice of executive suite was acceded and we have had a comfortable stay on board the cruise ship (Day 1 Pic). The cruise ship managers, Jeffery and Nancy were helpful and friendly. They provided us with good advice and suggestions and there was never a dull moment on the cruise ship. We were treated with Captain's Bridge Tour (Wheel House) on Day 4 and it was an eye-opening experience. We got to see what's the captain does behind the wheel.

The shore excursion to the Three Gorges Dam and the Ship Lift, boat excursion to the Goddess Stream and land excursion to Shibaozhai Pagoda were enjoyable. We would like to share five pictures  with you and you may place our feedback/comments and the 5 pictures at your website. We will recommend your cruise service to friends and family if they are keen on a cruise holiday.

Thank you

Au Sisters

Au Sisters, Australia
September 27, 2018

Questions & Discussions

Following are latest questions and answers from our webusers and customers. You can learn many useful information from the discussion and cases. You can also join in the discussions or ask your own question. Our experts will help you ASAP.

Clothing for Yangtze River Cruise
We are travelling on the Yangtze River cruise in early May 2019. Is it normally cold or can we wear shorts during the day
2019-04-18 17:08
Hello Robert,

Thanks for your question. Early May is during the spring along the Yangtze River. The weather changes warmer and warmer, and usually sunny in the day time, but there would be some cold wind at early morning and during night. It's ok to wear shorts on balmy sunny days. However, you are also recommended to prepare pants with you, because there may be some light raining days during the spring.

Wish you a memorable ship experience in China!
Vegetarian Food
Hi, We are traveling in the cruise from 9 May. Is there any Indian vegetarian food. What are the other vegetarian options
2018-04-30 04:51
Hello Ravi,

Greetings from China! At present, there is no Indian vegetarian food served onboard Yangtze River cruise ships. However, the breakfast, lunch and dinner are almost arranged in buffet styles with about 3-5 vegetarian dishes, like cabbages, vegetables in season, vegetable and fruit salad, and so on, and some cruises prepare the dinner in Chinese sitting form with some specially cooked vegetarian dishes for guests. And if want, you could also pay extra to order some vegetarian food at the reception desk and tell the staff about your needs and eating habits, and the cruise chefs would prepare great food for your enjoyment. Besides, the Yangtze River ships serving foreign guests from the world have provided service to many vegetarian travellers and have gained rich experience and good reviews, so you can enjoy your dining time on the ship!

Wish you a wonderful Yangtze River sailing trip in May!
Room with balcony
If I book a China tour with webjet, what is the name of cruise ship used. Also can I book a cabin with balcony
2017-12-06 19:37
Hi Christine,

Thanks for your question. As I know, there probably is no Yangtze River cruise business on the Webjet. And if you are interested in enjoying the leisurable cruise in China, you could book the cruise tour with us. Nearly all cabins onboard the cruise, such as the Century cruises, Victoria cruises, President cruises, Yangtze Gold cruises, Yangtze Explorer, etc. are facilitated with an open balcony for your sightseeing enjoyment and also many great services and high standard facilities and amenities. Please feel free to tell us your Email address, nationality, group size, traveling time to China, needs, and other basic information, and our professional Travel Consultant could help you as soon as possible to tailor make a route for you with really nice price.

Have a nice day!
Should we worry about Motion Sickness
Just not sure if we should need motion sickness meds. We are on your cruise that departs from the Yichang Port for Yangtze River from April 24- April 27, 2017. Thank you so much
2017-04-07 08:13
Dear Mary,

Thanks for taking a Yangtze River cruise with us. April is a great time with fine weather to enjoy the gorgeous scenery along Three Gorges.

No matter which ship you take, it will run very steady at a relatively slow speed. As you know, the construction of Three Gorges Dam controls the water level and flow velocity of Yangtze River that it will be steady to guarantee every ship to sail smoothly. Unlike the ocean cruise, there is no need to bring motion sickness meds for travelers who on Yangtze River cruise. If your physical condition are seasick easily, take some just in case. And no worry, there is a clinic onboard who will serve at any time.

Wish you have a nice journey!

Have a question? Get answers from our travel experts or guests

  • Your Question:
  • Your Name:
  • Your Email:
  • Submit