86-28-85223685

info@yangtze-river-cruises.com

Yangtze Cruise InquiryContact us

Yangtze Cruise Reviews from Real Cruise Travelers
You are here: Home > What Our Customers Say

Reviews of Yangtze River Cruise

Still not deciding if a Yangtze River Cruise is worth for you? Many of our travellers have experienced a lifetime changing trip and now more than happy to share their stories with you. Check out their memorable Yangtze Cruise reviews and experiences.

Dear Ms. Lyn Wang,

back in Germany I can tell you that all around the cruise worked well.

The two guides were friendly and helpful.

Kind regards

Rudolf

Rudolf,
October 3, 2017

HI Johnson,

We really enjoyed the cruise. We had to talk to the manager to be upgraded to 6th floor dining. It would have been helpful if your tour can arrange that beforehand.

The cabin itself is spacious & clean.Everything worked, especially important for the washroom.

We particularly enjoyed the dam tour & the White Emperor optional tour.

Even though we booked Room 439 etc., we were offered 405 & was persuaded that it was a better room. Well it wasn't., as it is directly under the 5th floor entertainment hall. Noisy in evening. Good thing that we were so tired that we fell asleep anyway!

The wifi was spotty at best but we were forewarned by the staff.

You are welcome to share my comments with potential travellers.

Regards,

Winson T.

Winson T., Canada
September 29, 2017

Leo,

Just returned to Singapore one hour ago. Sent my message in WhatsApp.

I was cut off from the rest of the world because Google, gmail and Facebook are blocked in China.

I have been in many cruises before in Europe, US and South East ASIA but the Century Legend is most outstanding.

I understand that it was built in 2013 and it looks very well maintained and I am impressed with what the Chinese are doing with the cruises.

I have read many reviews of horror stories on Chinese cruises and I held my breath when I decided to join the Yangtze 3 gorges cruises.

Apart from the incident with the porter who demanded 100 CNY for carrying my luggage I was well taken care of by the hotel manager when I complained that it was so hot in my cabin.

3 times a day a room attendant will visit my room to ensure that it is kept at a comfortable temperature with an Air cooler .

I met some passengers in the train from Yichang to ZJJ and the complained how terrible the cruise was with the Yangtze Gold and Victoria cruises. In fact I passed by the Yangtze Gold and Victoria cruises and they all look so old and badly maintained.

My Cabin was very comfortable after they lowered the temperature with air cooler and the meals were civilised. No need to rush for food like the other boats and no need to upgrade to a different dining room.

The other gripe is that it was raining everyday and we could not admire the beauty of the 3 gorges.

I made some good friends in the cruise and we did things together.

The next trip will be going upstream in the 3 gorges and hopefully there will be another new boat and definitely NOT SEPTEMBER!!

None of the passengers I met had been swindled by the porters because their travel agent arranged the porterage. Perhaps you can think of Creative ways to provide porter service for dependent Travellers who booked thru you.

Or you advised the independent traveller about porters upon arrival @ boat because there are many flight of stairs to climb whereas I saw travel Sgt st drive near the dick with the luggage

Grace Ong

Grace,
September 28, 2017

Hi Wendy,

You have already done the Chongqing tour we arranged and the Yangtze cruise , so how was this trip overall ? Excellent but it would be good to alert all clients ahead of time regarding the various upgrades and additional tours. Pushing for it at the registration can be quite hassling and uncomfortable.

Here below are the questions for you:

1. Was your travel consultant of our company polite and patient to answer your questions? Yes, they are polite and professional

2. How was your tour? The tour was well organised and the schedule was excellent in terms of timing and breaks in between items.

3. ??

4. Do you have any suggestions on improving our service? Do try to improve your selection of wines.

The Program Director, Dick and River Guide Steven were great.

With best wishes...

DrChow

Dr Chow,
September 24, 2017

Ariel

Service was very good and response to emails was fine. We enjoyed the trip. Thanks.

Michael

Michael,
September 18, 2017

Lyn

HI THANKS i HAD A WONDERFUL CRUISE THE STAFF ARE GREAT COULD NOT FAULT THEM

I WAS LUCKY I HAD A COMPLETE ROOM TO MYSELF NOT SURE WHAT HAPPENED TO THE OTHER PERSON BUT I WAS VERY HAPPY ROOM 333 IS A GREAT ROOM NOT TUCKED AWAY BUT NEXT TO STAIRS

THANKS AGAIN WOULD BE HAPPY TO RECOMMEND CENTURY LEGEND TO FRIENDS

REGARDS

PETER

Peter,
September 18, 2017

Dear Catherine,

We have just returned from our trip to China.

I have no words to express our gratitude for your attentive organisation of our trip. The train trip, the unforgettable river cruise experience, the attentive transfers and tours by Nancy, David, Kimi, Mark were exactly as described in your numerous communications to me.

The China trip was a dream for my family, which you made it happen.

Thank you very much and I look forward to contact you again for our next China adventure in more off-the-beaten-track destinations suggested by you.

Best regards,

Nikos

Nikos,
September 13, 2017

Hi Ariel

Sorry to take so long before replying - my dearest eldest sister died just as we had finished the cruise so we stayed on in China for a little longer and then had to fly back to Norway for the funeral. Fortunately I had just seen her both in Norway and whilst we were in England before our time in China.

To answer your questions.

1. I was very impressed with the service from Yangtze-river-cruises and especially appreciated your timely and efficient reply to any of my enquiries. I could not have wished for more. From arranging the most suitable dates for us, to giving advice as to when to arrive before joining the cruise you provided exceptional service. It was all made very easy and I really appreciated that. Thank you very much Ariel.

2. We were very happy with the 4 day cruise from Chongqing to Yichang. Our cabin was very nice, clean and more than adequate for our needs. The dining room served a good selection of dishes and as we were the only ‘native’ English speakers we ended up with a table to ourselves! The entertainment on board performed by the staff was excellent and we very much enjoyed it.

The local guides provided on our excursions were very knowledgeable and we went on all the tours available. It was a very enjoyable and informative cruise and the Three Gorges Dam is very impressive indeed.

3. I am more than happy to recommend Yangtze River Cruises

4. We think that Yangtze River Cruises run an excellent short cruise and we have nothing but praise for the very helpful and polite staff.

5. Not much to improve really - perhaps a recommendation to have suitable footwear for the excursions - there are a lot of steps to climb when visiting all the pagodas etc - we were appropriately shod but I couldn’t help notice some other people not being so!

6. We give permission for you to use any comments you like. Still a bit behind with dealing with the photos - I will send some on if appropriate when we have downloaded to our computer.

7. Finally, we were very pleased to have arrived the day earlier as you recommended - I suspect we could have been in time but it could have been stressful. The guide and driver you had kindly arranged for us contacted us the evening before and was very prompt arriving the next morning. We visited the Zoo first thing and were able to see 3 Panda cubs and about 7 adult Pandas which was a treat! We then made a visit to the ‘Ancient City’ and the Three Gorges Museum which was excellent. The guide then dropped us off early at the ship. Our guide spoke excellent English and we had an enjoyable tour.

Kind regards

Caroline

Caroline, New Zealand
September 13, 2017

Questions & Discussions

Following are latest questions and answers from our webusers and customers. You can learn many useful information from the discussion and cases. You can also join in the discussions or ask your own question. Our experts will help you ASAP.

Clothing for Yangtze River Cruise
We are travelling on the Yangtze River cruise in early May 2019. Is it normally cold or can we wear shorts during the day
2019-04-18 17:08
Hello Robert,

Thanks for your question. Early May is during the spring along the Yangtze River. The weather changes warmer and warmer, and usually sunny in the day time, but there would be some cold wind at early morning and during night. It's ok to wear shorts on balmy sunny days. However, you are also recommended to prepare pants with you, because there may be some light raining days during the spring.

Wish you a memorable ship experience in China!
Vegetarian Food
Hi, We are traveling in the cruise from 9 May. Is there any Indian vegetarian food. What are the other vegetarian options
2018-04-30 04:51
Hello Ravi,

Greetings from China! At present, there is no Indian vegetarian food served onboard Yangtze River cruise ships. However, the breakfast, lunch and dinner are almost arranged in buffet styles with about 3-5 vegetarian dishes, like cabbages, vegetables in season, vegetable and fruit salad, and so on, and some cruises prepare the dinner in Chinese sitting form with some specially cooked vegetarian dishes for guests. And if want, you could also pay extra to order some vegetarian food at the reception desk and tell the staff about your needs and eating habits, and the cruise chefs would prepare great food for your enjoyment. Besides, the Yangtze River ships serving foreign guests from the world have provided service to many vegetarian travellers and have gained rich experience and good reviews, so you can enjoy your dining time on the ship!

Wish you a wonderful Yangtze River sailing trip in May!
Room with balcony
If I book a China tour with webjet, what is the name of cruise ship used. Also can I book a cabin with balcony
2017-12-06 19:37
Hi Christine,

Thanks for your question. As I know, there probably is no Yangtze River cruise business on the Webjet. And if you are interested in enjoying the leisurable cruise in China, you could book the cruise tour with us. Nearly all cabins onboard the cruise, such as the Century cruises, Victoria cruises, President cruises, Yangtze Gold cruises, Yangtze Explorer, etc. are facilitated with an open balcony for your sightseeing enjoyment and also many great services and high standard facilities and amenities. Please feel free to tell us your Email address, nationality, group size, traveling time to China, needs, and other basic information, and our professional Travel Consultant could help you as soon as possible to tailor make a route for you with really nice price.

Have a nice day!
Should we worry about Motion Sickness
Just not sure if we should need motion sickness meds. We are on your cruise that departs from the Yichang Port for Yangtze River from April 24- April 27, 2017. Thank you so much
2017-04-07 08:13
Dear Mary,

Thanks for taking a Yangtze River cruise with us. April is a great time with fine weather to enjoy the gorgeous scenery along Three Gorges.

No matter which ship you take, it will run very steady at a relatively slow speed. As you know, the construction of Three Gorges Dam controls the water level and flow velocity of Yangtze River that it will be steady to guarantee every ship to sail smoothly. Unlike the ocean cruise, there is no need to bring motion sickness meds for travelers who on Yangtze River cruise. If your physical condition are seasick easily, take some just in case. And no worry, there is a clinic onboard who will serve at any time.

Wish you have a nice journey!

Have a question? Get answers from our travel experts or guests

  • Your Question:
  • Your Name:
  • Your Email:
  • Submit