86-28-85223685

info@yangtze-river-cruises.com

Yangtze Cruise Inquiry Contact us

You are here: Home > What Our Customers Say

Reviews of Yangtze River Cruise

Still not deciding if a Yangtze River Cruise is worth for you? Many of our travellers have experienced a lifetime changing trip and now more than happy to share their stories with you. Check out their memorable Yangtze Cruise reviews and experiences.

Hi Lily,

Where to start, we had a fantastic trip, everything you put in place worked very well, thank you! Some specific comments:

Yangtze Cruise - we (two couples travelling largely independently) joined the cruise early evening Saturday, after an excellent meal at a local restaurant. Check in was very easy and the staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. We went for the 2500 CNY per room upgrade to a suite, with a smaller more intimate restaurant and executive lounge access. We declined the drinks package, though for some that may be good value. The boat was very clean and comfortable, akin to a good 4/5 star hotel, plenty of space and great views of the stunning gorges. Our only gripe was food, after 10 days of superb food prior to joining the cruise we found the meals a bit bland - far from bad and we did eat but just not terribly enjoyable. The staff were universally superb, those with whom we had most contact were Allan, Jenny and Jessica - all 5-star with superb English.

Beijing Wall/Summer Palace - Candy called on the previous evening to ensure all was well, we were collected at 6:45am as agreed and made the Great Wall in good time. It’s quite a climb to get to the cable car, Candy could have improved the experience by considering the walking pace, one of the party was feeling a bit unwell after the brisk climb - taking a few minutes more would have been better. We booked to go up on cable car (chair lift not my favourite) and go down by toboggan, this gives a very good one-way walk along the wall, mostly downhill. The wall is incredible, Candy had to go back to base to fix an insurance issue, we would have preferred to get her commentary along the wall but it was still stunning. By the time we were leaving the wall the queues were huge, best advice is the go early!

We dropped in to the Summer Palace on the return drive to Beijing, it was lovely although after the wall all else feels a bit ordinary. I should mention the excellent car and driver, all in all a good trip.

Qian Warriors/City Wall/Muslim Street - Alison collected us at 8:30, as arranged and we drove for 90 minutes or so to the warrior site. What a remarkable and truly spectacular morning, it is vast and the work which has gone into excavation and restoration is hugely impressive. We were very well guided throughout and then enjoyed lunch at a nice hotel nearby. By the time we got back to Xian the rain was coming down hard, nevertheless we enjoyed seeing the city wall and Muslim St, I only wish we had been hungry there, the food looked superb. Excellent guide, and very good driver, on the negative side the car was quite old and a bit uncomfortable - not to the standard of others. Finally, we tipped the guide at the end at same level as day previous, we left her to decide on a split between guide/driver, that seemed to cause an issue.

Chengdu Pandas/Gardens/Park/Afternoon Tea - Gila collected us at 8:30, again very prompt and professional. The Panda base was excellent as was all other aspects, particularly the lunch at a local restaurant chosen by the guide. Gila was a real star, she worked incredibly hard to get us best views and shorted queues , also seemed prepared to go on as long as we wanted at all stops. The car and driver excellent too, all three tours were excellent but this one gets 6-stars.

Overall first class, any criticism above is minor and in no way diminished the experience.

A special mention for Lily at Yangtze River Cruise, from the first to last her service was impeccable. Always prompt and professional, I know China quite well, my initial approach was to fix the cruise but the three driven guided tours were really superb - have attentive professional support left us to enjoy the wonder of China!

Please feel able to use any or all of the above on your site.

With grateful thanks,

Andrew

Andrew,
August 15, 2018

Dear Yanny,

We have finished now our leisure tour and arrived in Hangzhou for work.

Thank you for your expert guiding, very appreciated. You can cite us as reference!

I can recommend your tour as far as the organisation of our tour specifi9cally which is not a package tour in the normal sense.

I guess Yagtze River Cruise tour is an efficient travel agent.. at leats I can say that you are :-)

I will certainly not wirte a public sharable blog on our travel....

I recommended you (personally) already to other people from my conference.. you might get feedback.

All the best

Wolfgang

Wolfgang,
August 13, 2018

Hi Leo,

Thank you for your message.  We just returned back home yesterday from Shanghai, after 20 hours of travelling.

The Cruise was really enjoyable, amazing scenery and excellent quality of program, staff and food! The room was really good as well.

The only thing that was bit hard was finding the ship in Chongqing :-) But we managed to find it, haha. And maybe the final day for the optional tour it was not really clear what to expect from this tour (maybe include some pictures?), so we ended up taking the standard tour.

Also really enjoyed the Fengdu Ghost Town optional tour. And maybe a bit longer sailing in the Wu Gorge would be great as well as this was really amazing scenery.

Thank you for booking the tour, will definitely recommend your company to others in the future!

Best Regards,

Luuk

Luuk,
August 13, 2018

Dear Leo,

It was a great trip and I will highly recommend it. Can you give my email to Cruise Guide Clyde (Victoria Grace)? I wanted to send me some information about the Yangtze, but I forgot to give my address to him.

Best regards

Nadja

Nadja,
August 13, 2018

Not easy to find the right cruise ship/itinerary for you? Please contact one of our Yangtze cruise specialists to save your time and money. Click the right button to send an online inquiry and we will get back to you within 0.5~23.5 hours.

Your can rely on their expert knowledge and endless enthusiasm!

Questions & Discussions

Following are latest questions and answers from our webusers and customers. You can learn many useful information from the discussion and cases. You can also join in the discussions or ask your own question. Our experts will help you ASAP.

Eating inn the restaurant
Hello, We will be joining a tour which includes a 4 night cruise on the Century Sun... Can you let me know if you can sit anywhere in the restaurant, and do you have tables for 2 people? Also, are you able to eat/ have dinner in your cabin ?
2019-07-04 11:28
Hi Lisa,

Thanks for your question! To offer a better service for guests, Century Sun will considerately arrange seats according to guests' eating habits, nationalities and cabin number onboard. Everyone onboard usually eats at a fixed seat of a big round table with 8-10 people.

If you want to eat in your own cabin, you can call the reception desk and order dishes and drinks you like. Attendants will deliver the great food to your cabins, and this service needs to pay extra.

If you are interested, check more about eating onboard Yangtze River cruises (for reference) at:
https://www.yangtze-river-cruises.com/experience/dining.html

Enjoy your coming cruise journey with Century Sun!
Clothing for Yangtze River Cruise
We are travelling on the Yangtze River cruise in early May 2019. Is it normally cold or can we wear shorts during the day
2019-04-18 17:08
Hello Robert,

Thanks for your question. Early May is during the spring along the Yangtze River. The weather changes warmer and warmer, and usually sunny in the day time, but there would be some cold wind at early morning and during night. It's ok to wear shorts on balmy sunny days. However, you are also recommended to prepare pants with you, because there may be some light raining days during the spring.

Wish you a memorable ship experience in China!
Vegetarian Food
Hi, We are traveling in the cruise from 9 May. Is there any Indian vegetarian food. What are the other vegetarian options
2018-04-30 04:51
Hello Ravi,

Greetings from China! At present, there is no Indian vegetarian food served onboard Yangtze River cruise ships. However, the breakfast, lunch and dinner are almost arranged in buffet styles with about 3-5 vegetarian dishes, like cabbages, vegetables in season, vegetable and fruit salad, and so on, and some cruises prepare the dinner in Chinese sitting form with some specially cooked vegetarian dishes for guests. And if want, you could also pay extra to order some vegetarian food at the reception desk and tell the staff about your needs and eating habits, and the cruise chefs would prepare great food for your enjoyment. Besides, the Yangtze River ships serving foreign guests from the world have provided service to many vegetarian travellers and have gained rich experience and good reviews, so you can enjoy your dining time on the ship!

Wish you a wonderful Yangtze River sailing trip in May!
Room with balcony
If I book a China tour with webjet, what is the name of cruise ship used. Also can I book a cabin with balcony
2017-12-06 19:37
Hi Christine,

Thanks for your question. As I know, there probably is no Yangtze River cruise business on the Webjet. And if you are interested in enjoying the leisurable cruise in China, you could book the cruise tour with us. Nearly all cabins onboard the cruise, such as the Century cruises, Victoria cruises, President cruises, Yangtze Gold cruises, Yangtze Explorer, etc. are facilitated with an open balcony for your sightseeing enjoyment and also many great services and high standard facilities and amenities. Please feel free to tell us your Email address, nationality, group size, traveling time to China, needs, and other basic information, and our professional Travel Consultant could help you as soon as possible to tailor make a route for you with really nice price.

Have a nice day!
Should we worry about Motion Sickness
Just not sure if we should need motion sickness meds. We are on your cruise that departs from the Yichang Port for Yangtze River from April 24- April 27, 2017. Thank you so much
2017-04-07 08:13
Dear Mary,

Thanks for taking a Yangtze River cruise with us. April is a great time with fine weather to enjoy the gorgeous scenery along Three Gorges.

No matter which ship you take, it will run very steady at a relatively slow speed. As you know, the construction of Three Gorges Dam controls the water level and flow velocity of Yangtze River that it will be steady to guarantee every ship to sail smoothly. Unlike the ocean cruise, there is no need to bring motion sickness meds for travelers who on Yangtze River cruise. If your physical condition are seasick easily, take some just in case. And no worry, there is a clinic onboard who will serve at any time.

Wish you have a nice journey!

Have a question? Get answers from our travel experts or guests