86-28-85223685

info@yangtze-river-cruises.com

Yangtze Cruise InquiryContact us

Yangtze Cruise Reviews from Real Cruise Travelers
You are here: Home > What Our Customers Say

Reviews of Yangtze River Cruise

Still not deciding if a Yangtze River Cruise is worth for you? Many of our travellers have experienced a lifetime changing trip and now more than happy to share their stories with you. Check out their memorable Yangtze Cruise reviews and experiences.

Hi Lily,

I just arrived in Australia today.

Our group of 4 was very pleased with the excellent organisation of the whole package which included transfers, day tours, Bullet Train, Yangtze River cruise (downstream) and flights from Yichang to Shanghai

Transfers: - each of 5 different transfers were on time, with correct van and English speaking guide with driver. All worked very well and guides were excellent and helpful, making the transfers easy.

Half-day tours: - 2 provided and both were very good. 1st was in Chengdu to the Panda facility, followed by lunch. 2nd was to old town in Chongqing, before going to the cruise. Both tours were very well guided.

Bullet Train: - booking, tickets and to/from train stations for Chengdu to Chongqing worked very well, with guide arranging to pick up tickets at the station and bag cartage from the drop zone to the platform. Bullet train at 300KPH was excellent in 1st class and countryside was beautiful.

Yangtze Cruise: - Century Legend downstream - ship was clean, modern and spacious. We had Executive Suites and VIP dining - accommodation, food and beverages were very good. The cruise and side tours were excellent. We recommend adding the "ship elevator" tour as an addition at the end of the cruise at the 3 Gorges Dam. Only issue we had was getting up and down steps on the steep bank to board and disembark the ship, due to one guest being on crutches. Not your fault!

Flights to Shanghai: - China Eastern - booking, tickets and to/from airports arranged by you worked very well, with no problems. Business class was comfortable and service very good. - Note, the free upgrade to 1st class for one couple did not eventuate - we were all in business, as the plane did not have 1st class.

Overall your organisation of the itinerary to suit our needs and requests worked very well and we were all very pleased at the no problem approach and that all went like clockwork.

This started from your advertised "Yangtze River Cruise" which we then added to with our various requests to include Chengdu and finally getting to Shanghai. Thanks for your assistance in making all the arrangement, which flowed perfectly all the way through - not one hitch. Each guide and we had 4 of them, were good knowledgeable English speakers, who organised everything for us and modified each day to suit our needs.

Thanks for a great holiday, which we recommend to any traveller.

Best regards!        

Gary

Gary, Australia
September 15, 2018

Hi Rita,

Thank you Rita for all the help you gave us along the way.  We had a wonderful trip on the Yangtze!

Kind regards,

Jane

 

Jane, England
September 21, 2018

Dear Wing,

Here my answer to your questions:

1)    How do you like our tour arrangements and are you willing to recommend our service to your friends?

Surely!

The arrangement was great and we are absolutely satisfied. And we are spreading this to our friends and colleagues

2)    Do you have some suggestions for us to improve our service?

Not all the guides are appropriate.

Diana (Chongqing) was absolutely great. Even if it was involve in a simple transfer, she provided a lot of information and really great support looking for the porter and arranging it to the ship (including the stairs).

The guy at Yichang, replacing Amanda, was too hasty. Providing us limited information, having not the tickets ready and leaving immediately the station after a really quick brief (for example: he informed us about the boarding pass/ticket procedure on the train but we were not informed how to identify the coach).

Joy was not so bad, but not providing much information and not properly informed on the "busy hours". Indeed she was not aware of the opening of the wing suit championship.

Letting us impact quite substantial queues in visiting Tianmen Mountain.

All the drivers have been good. The driver in Zhangjiajie was absolutely great (fast, safe and available).

The hotels have been absolutely good and the ship provided a high level accommodation. That was great.

3)    If you come to China again, would you like to use our service again?

Surely!

About:

What’s more, if it is not too troublesome for you, could you please do me a big favor? Could you please take some time to make some comments at Trip Advisor for my job? A simple and short one would be OK and great.

It will be my pleasure.

I assume I have to add my comments in:

https://www.tripadvisor.it/Attraction_Review-g297463-d4331496-Reviews-China_Discovery_Day_Tour-Chengdu_Sichuan.html

Please, confirm it.

Thank you,

Leonardo

 

Leonardo, Italy and Switzerland
September 19, 2018

Hi Riley,
  Thank you for your email. I just spoke with my boss now, they are just landed in Manila and just got out of the airport. 
  He was very happy with the tour. He is also very much impressed and appreciative of you personally. He told me that they really enjoyed.
  Thank you very much for everything.
Kenny

Hi Riley,

  Thank you for your email. I just spoke with my boss now, they are just landed in Manila and just got out of the airport. 

  He was very happy with the tour. He is also very much impressed and appreciative of you personally. He told me that they really enjoyed.

  Thank you very much for everything.

Kenny

 

Kenny, Philippines
September 19, 2018

Dear Riley,

Everthing went perfect! First we had a Good lunch. Then We visited the ancient town and Eling Park. Dave was such a very Good guide! Now We are on board with Dave helping us. No hassles. Nice room. Thanks Riley

Rodriguez

Rodriguez, Philippines
September 14, 2018

Hi Vivien, 

we loved it.

We are still on vacation. When we are back, I will give a good feedback. 

We have a few good pics, but I need to get them off the phone first.

Greetings

Georg

Georg, German
September 14, 2018

Dear Wing,

I want to congratulate you for the excellent service you provided to our group’s recently concluded China Tour. We are pleased with all the travel arrangements you made for us, the planning was meticulous and well thought out and just right.

You have always been on top of everything from the moment we presented you with our travel ideas and it was pleasure to see how you responded to our needs and questions prior to the tour and during the tour and making yourself available to all our needs 

We had few issues down the trip  - needed medical help to one of us  – your immediate response and stepping up to help, arranging medical help and facilitating the transfer was much appreciated. The speed of response and managing the process was excellent and was indeed a great help for all concerned – you are the best and I am glad you were our travel agent.

We also encountered few other setbacks (1) you also, took action to change the unprofessional Tour guide on the 1st day of our tour - within few hours of my email and replaced with an excellent Tour guide. (2) Helped us, with two other members who missed their in-bound flight.

Each step of our journey we were met by professional guides and drivers (never late!) We were impressed. Our appreciation and admiration of the guides and drivers during our journey remain deeply in our fond memory the exception is Vivian – very unprofessional, rude and does not have the quality to be a guide the only sore point of the tour.

I would like to recommend the following two guides for their exceptional service and delivery – MR Kai in Beijing and Ms. Tutu in Zhangjiajie and these two are the best travel guides we came into contact. Kai is very knowledgeable about history and perfect spoken English. He explains with animations and lot of pride in his work. He is also very caring and always opened for questions and concerned with our safety. Tutu too was knowledgeable, good explanations in English, caring and she was always there to help us by staying with the group till late nights to accompany us to restaurants and help us with the food selection – she was so gentle, kind, caring about our security and wellbeing and touched our hearts.

The Tour company please take note that  Ms. Wing was exceptional and she was there for us throughout our tour and helped us with all our needs,  All the best to China discovery and again accept our heartfelt appreciation and thanks to Wing for her excellent service and she is the best – China Discovery should be proud to have at their service such a talented Travel agent.

This is not the last of our visit to China. There are still so many places to explore, and we will definitely stay with China Discovery and Wing, and will highly recommend them to all my family and friends. Please, share this note with your Manager.

I will provide you more details about our experience with the River Cruise, food, Hotels and sites visited  etc. in my next email and I encourage everyone in our group to provide their feedback as well.

Kind Regards

Shantha 

Shantha , Canada
September 13, 2018

Hi Wing,

On behalf of all of us on the tour, here is a very big THANK YOU for everything you did for us before and during the tour. 

We really appreciate all your help. As mentioned in Shantha's email. you were there for us every step of the way.  We all are

very impressed with your work. 

Like Shantha mentioned, all tour guides ( except one) were excellent. I have to specially mention KAI ( Beijing) and TUTU ( Zhangjiajie).

I am sorry we were not able to meet you this time but hopefully, some day we will.

Can you please send us email addresses of people whom we could write to about your excellent work? They should know what a great 

person you are. And also, we would like to let China Discovery know the good work done by their guides. And we would like to give them 

our opinions on the hotels and restaurants etc. I think that would help them in the future so if you have a contact person there, send that to 

us.

Once again, thank you very much

Vijit Witane

Vijit, Canada
September 13, 2018

Questions & Discussions

Following are latest questions and answers from our webusers and customers. You can learn many useful information from the discussion and cases. You can also join in the discussions or ask your own question. Our experts will help you ASAP.

Clothing for Yangtze River Cruise
We are travelling on the Yangtze River cruise in early May 2019. Is it normally cold or can we wear shorts during the day
2019-04-18 17:08
Hello Robert,

Thanks for your question. Early May is during the spring along the Yangtze River. The weather changes warmer and warmer, and usually sunny in the day time, but there would be some cold wind at early morning and during night. It's ok to wear shorts on balmy sunny days. However, you are also recommended to prepare pants with you, because there may be some light raining days during the spring.

Wish you a memorable ship experience in China!
Vegetarian Food
Hi, We are traveling in the cruise from 9 May. Is there any Indian vegetarian food. What are the other vegetarian options
2018-04-30 04:51
Hello Ravi,

Greetings from China! At present, there is no Indian vegetarian food served onboard Yangtze River cruise ships. However, the breakfast, lunch and dinner are almost arranged in buffet styles with about 3-5 vegetarian dishes, like cabbages, vegetables in season, vegetable and fruit salad, and so on, and some cruises prepare the dinner in Chinese sitting form with some specially cooked vegetarian dishes for guests. And if want, you could also pay extra to order some vegetarian food at the reception desk and tell the staff about your needs and eating habits, and the cruise chefs would prepare great food for your enjoyment. Besides, the Yangtze River ships serving foreign guests from the world have provided service to many vegetarian travellers and have gained rich experience and good reviews, so you can enjoy your dining time on the ship!

Wish you a wonderful Yangtze River sailing trip in May!
Room with balcony
If I book a China tour with webjet, what is the name of cruise ship used. Also can I book a cabin with balcony
2017-12-06 19:37
Hi Christine,

Thanks for your question. As I know, there probably is no Yangtze River cruise business on the Webjet. And if you are interested in enjoying the leisurable cruise in China, you could book the cruise tour with us. Nearly all cabins onboard the cruise, such as the Century cruises, Victoria cruises, President cruises, Yangtze Gold cruises, Yangtze Explorer, etc. are facilitated with an open balcony for your sightseeing enjoyment and also many great services and high standard facilities and amenities. Please feel free to tell us your Email address, nationality, group size, traveling time to China, needs, and other basic information, and our professional Travel Consultant could help you as soon as possible to tailor make a route for you with really nice price.

Have a nice day!
Should we worry about Motion Sickness
Just not sure if we should need motion sickness meds. We are on your cruise that departs from the Yichang Port for Yangtze River from April 24- April 27, 2017. Thank you so much
2017-04-07 08:13
Dear Mary,

Thanks for taking a Yangtze River cruise with us. April is a great time with fine weather to enjoy the gorgeous scenery along Three Gorges.

No matter which ship you take, it will run very steady at a relatively slow speed. As you know, the construction of Three Gorges Dam controls the water level and flow velocity of Yangtze River that it will be steady to guarantee every ship to sail smoothly. Unlike the ocean cruise, there is no need to bring motion sickness meds for travelers who on Yangtze River cruise. If your physical condition are seasick easily, take some just in case. And no worry, there is a clinic onboard who will serve at any time.

Wish you have a nice journey!

Have a question? Get answers from our travel experts or guests

  • Your Question:
  • Your Name:
  • Your Email:
  • Submit