86-28-85227275 / 85223685 / 85223672

86-19138970032 (GMT+8 18:00~09:00)

info@yangtze-river-cruises.com

Yangtze Cruise Inquiry Contact us

You are here: Home » Yangtze Cruise Ships » Victoria Selina » Reviews

Victoria Selina

Victoria Selina Cruise Ship

Victoria Selina, with fine American-management, is the second class ship of Victoria Cruises, offering good service in every detail. It is listed as one of the Yangtze cruise ships with great value for money.

Cruise Route:

  • Chongqing - Yichang (4 days 3 nights;)
  • Yichang - Chongqing (5 days 4 nights;)
Price:  $363-$479
Enquiry Now

Victoria Selina Cruise Ship Reviews

Cruise Ship Rating: 9.2 out of of 10. Read the reviews from the Real Travelers on yangtze-river-cruises.com, cruisecritics.com, and tripadvisors.com below to better help your cruise plan.

Our cruise on the Victoria Selina was a fabulous experience, seeing the dam itself, incredible in its conception and execution, not least the extraordinary 'ship-lift' and then up the river for 4 days seeing the amazing achievement of the Chinese government and people in the erosion works, creation of new cities to house the 1.3 million people relocated from the area flooded by the dam, whole areas re-forested, etc., together with the amazing geology of the rock faces exposed on the littoral shoreline throughout. Our tour, organized by Ms Wing Zeng, of China Discovery/ Yangtze River Cruise, was beyond our expectation and capped off 3 wonderful weeks in China, visiting Shanghai, Chongqing (Dazu rock carvings) and Kunming (Stone Forest), climbing HuangShan, JiuhuaShan and several days in incredible Zhangjiajie. Our 9th trip to China, arranged to celebrate my 70th birthday, and mind-boggling as ever.

---- Reviewed by tonyredrup Bangkok, Thailand, July 12, 2018

We boarded our cruise ship at Chongqing and cruised down the Yangtze river docking at Yichang 4 days later. We had a fantastic time. Housekeeping staff were wonderful & friendly. Tom the river guide was great as was Dessy. Our boat was not full, we probably only had about 100 guests on the ship which was awesome! The selection of food was good and included some western options. We upgraded our dining option to the smaller & more private dining room on the 6th floor for an extra rmb168 per person. They had interesting excursions and optional extras. We didn't do the optional extra excursions and instead chose to stay aboard and attend the included lectures about chinese medicine etc and to just enjoy chilling out. My favourite excursion by far was when we transferred to smaller vessels and navigated the narrower parts of the river. We heard about old Wushan & listened to folk songs.

This was my first cruise and I found this to be a very enjoyable experience. We met some wonderful people on this cruise and highly recommend this cruise to others.

---- Reviewed by TPLina, New Zealand, May 29, 2018

A well-appointed older boat, in the high middle of the cruise boats on the Yangtze. Service was excellent. Rooms were well prepared and well-appointed. Balcony for every cabin. Free WiFi in the bar. Numerous PA system explanations and side trip options. Food was very good and well presented. Our trip had about 60% capacity so we never felt crowded.

Be prepared for overcast and hazy weather. Photos of clear weather must be taken on those few days per year that are clear. Still, the Dam, the locks (worked perfectly), and side gorges, and more were worth it all.

---- Reviewed by Kent, July 10, 2018

We took the 4-day tour on the Victoria Selina from Chongqing to Yichang. The vessel had recently been remodeled to add a separate dining area on the upper level, which was used only by our tour group and one other, for a total of about 40 people. Thus, the dining service and food was excellent and the conditions ideal for comfort and viewing while eating.

The best part of the tour was the 3 Gorges, which are truly spectacular. Thankfully, the weather was not as smoggy as upriver at Chongqing, so the sights were marvelous. Unfortunately, the loudspeaker system on the front observation deck was hard to understand with a less-than quality English from the river guide.

The cabins were modest but comfortable and certainly comparable to any other river cruise. The service was excellent including complementary laundry, shoe-shine and two bottles of bottled water every day. The shows after dinner were entertaining. There was also free computer/Internet access on the boat while in those areas of the Yangtze that were conducive to WiFi.

Even though the river has changed with the advent of the 3 Gorges dam, it is still a rather spectacular trip if you have the time.

---- Reviewed by Rbarney1945, July 9, 2018

We boarded our cruise ship at Chongqing and cruised down the Yangtze river docking at Yichang 4 days later. We had a fantastic time. Housekeeping staff were wonderful & friendly. A few of the staff, particularly the women in the bar & dining room were not very friendly but the friendliness & helpfulness of all the other staff more than made up for that. Tom the river guide was great as was Dessy. Our boat was not full, we probably only had about 100 guests on the ship which was awesome! The selection of food was good and included some western options. We upgraded our dining option to the smaller & more private dining room on the 6th floor for an extra rmb168 per person. They had interesting excursions and optional extras. We didn't do the optional extra excursions and instead chose to stay aboard and attend the included lectures about chinese medicine etc and to just enjoy chilling out. My favourite excursion by far was when we transferred to smaller vessels and navigated the narrower parts of the river. We heard about old Wushan & listened to folk songs.

This was my first cruise and I found this to be a very enjoyable experience. We met some wonderful people on this cruise and highly recommend this cruise to others

---- Reviewed by TPLina Dunedin, New Zealand, May 29, 2017

What Our Customers Say about Yangtze River Cruise

Hi Vivi,

Thank you so much for arranging it for us.

Darrol David Martin

...
By Martin
August 17, 2020

Hi Rita.

Yes I’m aboard the train for Guangzhou. It was a really great trip. I have recommended my colleagues to visit and to contact...

By Simon
June 30, 2020

Hi Wonder,

I hope things are returning to normal for you and that the impact in your business of covid-19 has not been too depressing....

By Simon
May 25, 2020

Schedule of Victoria Selina

    • Jan.
    • Feb.
    • Mar.
    • Apr.
    • May.
    • June.
    • July.
    • Aug.
    • Sept.
    • Oct.
    • Nov.
    • Dec.
    Please Note:
    • The above price range is based on a standard cabin for twin sharing.
    • The prices are valid by Dec.31 of the year.
    • Please enquiry for the exact price according to your nationality, cruising time and cruising route.
    • Please quote us for the price may change during China's Golden Week (the first week of October) and Spring Festival.
    • Limited winter schedules may be adjusted into other dates, cruise ships, etc. based on the arrangement of the cruise company.

    Have a question? Get answers from our travel experts or guests